Organizing The Zomba Renaissance – A Call to Sons, Daughters and Friends

Where does the story of your life start. Here is how mine started?

I am a son of a father from Nkolimbo Village Traditional Authority (TA) Kwataine in Ntcheu and a mother from Makupete Village, TA Chikowi, Thondwe Zomba. My mother was born in Zomba. She went to school at Nankumba Primary School in Thondwe Zomba and to St Mary’s Secondary School in Zomba. My maternal grandfather, worked at the Government Press in Zomba. My parents were married at Zomba CCAP Church. My father worked at Ministry of Finance in Zomba. I was born at Zomba General Hospital.

Zomba General Hospital, My Birth Place

Zomba General Hospital, My Birth Place

I went to Zomba Community Centre Kindergarten. I was raised in Mable and Ndola Lines in Zomba. For the longest time, my mother worked at the Zomba National Bank Branch.

My Kindergarten School - Zomba Community Centre

My Kindergarten School – Zomba Community Centre

I grew playing in memorable places the likes of Zomba Botanical Gardens, Zomba Sawmill Dump Site, Zomba Gymkhana Club, B and A, Lwangwa Recreation Centre, Mulunguzi Dam, Chikanda, Mponda Bwino, Mapale, Mulunguzi River, Parliament Building and many more. I started my primary school in 1976 at Zomba Government F.P. School (Bwaila FP a.k.a. Gava), was selected to Mulunguzi Secondary School in Zomba in 1985 from Zomba Police Camp Primary School. Then I studied at Chancellor College in Chirunga, Zomba. If I have to do charity anywhere, it starts in Zomba because Zomba is where my story starts.

That is my story. What is yours?

Bwaila a.k.a. Zomba Government Primary School, My First Primary School

Bwaila a.k.a. Zomba Government Primary School, My First Primary School

Wherever your story begins, make it a point that at least that is where your charity starts as well. At least the hospital where you were born or one of your former schools and your home village or area. Therefore, as a son of Malawi, born and raised in Zomba, I hereby call upon other Sons and Daughters of Zomba and Friends of Zomba, and the Friends of the Sons and Daughters and Friends of Zomba who are passionate about our Zomba that we should join hands and establish The Zomba Renaissance and Preservation Initiative.

We can replicate this in each and every community across our country. Each community or area has its Sons and Daughters who are scattered within the country and abroad.

Even The Biggest Man Was Once a Baby

Sons, Daughters and Friends of Zomba, let us join ourselves into The Zomba Renaissance and Preservation Initiative. As Babies of Zomba General Hospital, we can get together in initiatives to augment improvement or equipment supply efforts that are going on at this our hospital as “Ana a paJenolo”. The little we can do, together will have culminate into huge impact on our community and indeed our country.

Who is in on the ground and beyond? We can this.

Welcome To Zomba … But Please Do Not Mess

Let’s Do This!

The House where my family lived between 1975 and 1978 - Ndola Lines

The House where my family lived between 1975 and 1978 – Ndola Lines

Entrance to The Zomba Botanical Gardens. Used to be absolutely beautiful

Entrance to The Zomba Botanical Gardens. Used to be absolutely beautiful

Zomba Police Camp Primary School, My Other Primary School

Zomba Police Camp Primary School, My Other Primary School

My Secondary School, Mulunguzi

My Secondary School, Mulunguzi

One of my Chancellor College (University of Malawi) Residence Halls

One of my Chancellor College (University of Malawi) Residence Halls

About Hastings Fukula Nyekanyeka Betha

Born in Malawian and advocate of community mobilization, citizens' active participation in sustainable community development, and youth empowerment. Primarily focusing on "Organizing Against Poverty" by encouraging a new generation of players to participate in and influence the development of our communities
This entry was posted in BTP, LWT. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Organizing The Zomba Renaissance – A Call to Sons, Daughters and Friends

  1. Pingback: Zomba Renaissance and Preservation Initiative | Lead Without Title

Leave a Reply

